Area 8

Area 8 covers Oklahoma and most of Arkansas.

area 8 srv

Area 8’s councils include Arbuckle Area, Cherokee Area, Cimarron, De Soto Area, Indian Nations, Last Frontier, Quapaw Area, and Westark.



Area 8’s Venturing Leadership

Jake- Area 8

President: Jake Brillhart

Jake Brillhart is currently serving as the Southern Region Area 8 Venturing President. Going on to his 11 years with the Boy Scouts of America, Jake has been a member of the Last Frontier, Denver Area, Coronado Area, and Indian Nations councils.

In recent years, Jake has represented the Diocese of Tulsa and Indian Nations Council to the National Catholic Committee on Scouting, received the Eagle Scout award, and now sits on the Indian Nations Council Board of Directors. He also represented his council’s Order of the Arrow lodge to the 2015 National Order of the Conference’s Historian Summit and the Centennial Gala and currently serves as Hale Scout Reservation’s 2016 Order of the Arrow Camp Coordinator. Jake also represents the Boy Scouts of America to the Diocese of Tulsa Youth Senate.

Jake has promoted Scouting and Venturing to a variety of groups including parishes, the Diocese of Tulsa Office of Youth Ministry, and school districts.

During his term as Southern Region Area 8 Venturing President, Jake has three goals to support the Venturing program:

1. Create a robust and accurate communication network of volunteer and professionals interested in spreading the Area Venturing message

2. Encourage councils to adopt the VOA program and ultimately create VOA growth

3. Support greater Venturing membership growth through new-unit development, training, and council Venturing awareness

Advisor:  Debbie Downey


Debbie Downey Resides in Collinsville, Oklahoma Profession: Occupational Therapy Assistant Years in Scouting as a volunteer: 24 Scouting positions: Cub Scout Pack Committee Popcorn Kernel Webelos Den leader Boy Scout Troop Committee Troop Committee Chairman Order of The Arrow Troop Advancement Chairman Venturing Crew Founding member Crew Committee Chairman Council Venturing Committee Member Council VOA Advisor District Committee Member District Advancement Chairman District Merit Badge Fair Chairman District Commissioner Advisor for Venturing Crew at 2013 Jamboree NYLT Staff 3 years Council Summer Camp Medical Staff Philmont Calvalcade Sea Base Florida Keys Sea Base Bahamas Northern Tier Area 8 VOA Advisor