Area 6

Area 6 covers southern Kentucky, Tennessee, northern Mississippi, and western Virginia.

srv area 6

Area 6’s councils include Blue Grass, Cherokee Area, Chickasaw, Great Smoky Mountain, Lincoln Heritage, Middle Tennessee, Sequoyah, West Tennessee Area, and Yocona Area.

Check out their new website at:

Area 6’s Venturing Leadership

President Aj McGugin


Arliss “Aj” is from the Middle Tennessee Council and is a member of Crew 170 chartered by the Algood United Methodist Church. He has been in Scouting since he was a Tiger and is also a Life Scout from Troop 20. His leadership includes NYLT Senior Patrol Leader, Senior Crew Guide for NAYLE at Northern Tier, Kodiak Challenge Staff, Powder Horn, Venturing Blast @ PTC, Leave No Trace/Outdoor Ethics Trainer, Wood Badge youth staff, and Dean of MTC Venturing Academy. He has earned the Outdoor Bronze, Venturing, Discovery, and Pathfinder Awards. AJ has also earned the Presidential Volunteer Service Award, National Youth Leadership Society Award, God and Church Award, and the Council Venturing Leadership Award. He was a delegate to the Tennessee BSA “Report to State” and has been selected as an American Legion Tennessee Boy’s State Delegate. He has served as the Middle Tn Council Venturing President. He is also involved in Beta Club, IB Ambassador, and Tennessee Scholars. Aj will be serving as the SR Area 6 Venturing President in 2017-2018.

Area 6 Advisor

Advisor: Sherry McGugin

Sherry McGugin and her husband Harry reside in Cookeville and are a part of the Middle Tennessee Council. They have 3 sons and a daughter who are all involved in the Scouting program. Sherry is in the convenience store and fuel hauling business. She has been in Scouting for almost 10 years serving as a Den Leader, Pack Committee Chair, Assistant Scout Master, and Venturing Advisor. She is a member of the Middle Tennessee Council Executive Board and served as the Vice President for Venturing. Sherry serves as a BSA National Board member as a Council Representative and the Upper Cumberland District Committee Venturing Chairman. She currently serves as the Northern Tier National NAYLE Coordinator.

Her Scouting service includes staffing as a Day Camp Director, BALOO, OLS, Wood Badge, Kodiak, NYLT, NAYLE (Philmont and Northern Tier), Philmont Leadership Challenge, Philmont Traning Center staff, Venturing Summit, Venturing Klondike, Venturing Rendezvous, University of Scouting, Leave No Trace Trainer and Powder Horn. Sherry has experienced two National Jamboree’s as both a Venturing Staff member and a Contingent Crew Advisor. She is certified as an NRA Range Safety Officer. Sherry has been inducted into the Corps of Discovery. She has been honored with the District Award of Merit, Council and Area Venturing Leadership Award, and the Silver Beaver.

She is an avid outdoorsman with hobbies that include Shooting Sports, Backpacking, Caving and Hiking.

Email me