Area 3

Area 3 covers southern Texas.

srv area 3

Area 3’s councils include: Alamo Area, Bay Area, Buffalo Trail, Capitol Area, Texas Southwest, Rio Grande, Sam Houston, South Texas, and Three Rivers.

Area 3’s Venturing Leadership

President Maddie Brent

Maddie Brent from Texas has been elected Venturing President for Area 3 of the Southern Region.

Maddie spent the last year as Area 3 Vice President-Communications. A former council Venturing president, Maddie has served on council NYLT 3 times and staffed National Advanced Youth Leadership Experience at Philmont Scout Ranch.

Maddie has earned Discovery and Venturing Awards and the Venturing Bronze Sports Award. She received the Council Venturing Leadership Award in 2017. She is a member of Crew 271 in Cedar Park, Texas (Capitol Area Council)

Area 3’s Venturing Advisor


Advisor: John Devenport

Venturing crew advisor and is an advisor for the Venturing Officers Associations of the Capitol Area Council (Austin) and Area III of the Southern Region.

John has staffed, taught or directed more than 40 training events, including service as course director for Wood Badge, National Youth Leadership Training and multiple Venturing trainings. He has staffed two National Scout Jamborees and was an advisor for a council contingent crew for the 2017 jamboree.

Besides serving as a Venturing leader, John has served as a Cub Scouter, Boy Scouter and as a volunteer at the district and council levels. When his council created new districts, John helped build the first leadership team for a new district and served 3 years as its first Chairman.

John is an advisor for Alpha Phi Omega National Service Fraternity at the University of Texas at Austin and created the APO exhibit for the 2013 National Scout Jamboree. An Eagle Scout, John has been recognized with a council Venturing Leadership Award, Silver Beaver Award and District Award of Merit

Outside of Scouting, John is a former journalist and communications executive who is now a marketing and communications professional for a Fortune 500 corporation.